Starting out as an EYFS teacher.

This week I have my final meeting at university with my Academic Tutor who will sign me off! It is great to think that I do not have any more essays to write and I can actually start teaching. I have been fortunate to find a job in Early Years, which I have been wanting for the entire 3 years of training. Those 3 years have just flown by! York has been such a fantastic place to be a student and I have made some great friends there who are all heading in different directions.

What will I do now? I am about to start working as a supply teacher to fill up the time I have until I start my new job. It will also give me some good experience as I haven’t taught a class since February. I got up this morning at 6.45am and called in for work only to find that the schools in my area are on holiday today! I spent an hour yesterday printing off emergency lesson plans and creating my ‘supply teaching file’ so I am ready to go. Hopefully tomorrow I’ll have some work! Some good tips for supply teachers are here http://www.ugot.org/pdf/resource/supply_tips.pdf

Comments on: "The End of a Chapter…" (3)

  1. Well done finishing! And good luck with the supply teaching, you sound very organised!

    • Thank you. I have my first supply job on Thursday! I really like your blog, I read a few interesting posts today 🙂

  2. Thank you for that and have a fantastic time on Thursday!

Leave a Reply

