Starting out as an EYFS teacher.

Classdroid is an Android App for teachers that allows teachers to quickly take a picture of a students work, grade it and upload it to a pupils or class learning portfolio.”

For more information on Classdroid visit John Mclear’s blog.

I have an Andriod phone and I really enjoy using it. It is for my personal use and so for obvious reasons I don’t use it in school. So I would need a seperate phone for the classroom if I were to use this app properly. I have been testing it at home to see what it can do and how easy it is. It is very easy to use once you have sorted the technical bits such as setting where to upload a piece of work to. I set mine to upload to a blog that I am using for testing purposes. To see the results click here. Then all you do is take a picture, grade it and send it. It couldn’t be any easier!

So this got me thinking about how I might use it in the classroom. As an Early years trainee teacher it could be used to take pictures of the children’s work so that parents could view it on their child’s blog. I think parents and children would enjoy that but it would require me to set up a blog for each child. I would often assess children’s work as evidence for their Early Years Profile and a picture would need extra information which could be voice recorded or typed. This ability to comment is not yet available, although you can grade it on a 1-5 star rating.

Best bit: Very quick, instant feedback for children.

Improvement I’d like to see: Option to add a voice comment and a text comment.

Comments on: "Experimenting with Classdroid – an Android App for Teachers." (1)

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by John McLear and John McLear, Lydia Pitkethly. Lydia Pitkethly said: New blog post: Experimenting with Classdroid – an Android App for Teachers.: “Classdroid is an Android App for te… http://bit.ly/bcQ7hj […]

Leave a Reply

