Starting out as an EYFS teacher.

I had to sit a maths exam today for uni. It only tests your knowledge up to KS3 level (age 14) so it should be easy right?

Well I have never found maths easy at school when you have about 3 lessons a week so trying to remember things I learnt roughly 7 years ago is not as simple as it sounds. This maths test also happened to be on the things you never do as an adult such as multiplying decimals, working out the value of x in an equation or finding the middle score in test results because computers do this for us!

My brain does not seem to work quickly when doing maths and this was evident when I did not manage to finish the paper in time.  It was like those childhood nightmares of maths were coming back to haunt me! If my dad reads this I’m sure he can remember all those times I struggled with maths!

In the highly likely event of me doing a re-sit this August, here is what I need to revise:

  • Cumulative frequency diagrams
  • Box and Whisker diagrams
  • Multiplying decimals
  • Ratio
  • Is a positive number x a negative number a + or -?

I’m sure the list could go on but I can’t remember anything else. I just hate maths and that’s the end of it but I know I have to pass a stupid test so that I can teach children how to count to 10.

Right that’s all. Going in to town now to cheer myself up with some retail therapy!

Leave a Reply

