Starting out as an EYFS teacher.

I have now done 2 weeks of my teaching practice and am feeling very tired. This has still not taken away the feeling of enjoyment though. During my first week I was still finding my feet and did not feel very confident. Nothing went wrong but I knew things could be improved. During my second week my confidence began to rise and I am feeling I am making progress. Most importantly the children are responding to me and they are making progress!

I am still having issues with paperwork as there is so much of it as a trainee. You have to ensure you have evidence for almost everything you do and this means paperwork!

Working in reception is fantastic as the activities you provide for the children are fun but they also help the children learn. I like the way that the curriculum is very creative and really hope that the National Curriculum change for KS1 and KS2 goes ahead with the shift towards a more foundation style.

The lessons I have been planning and teaching are slowly becoming available on http://www.primaryschoolteaching.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

