Starting out as an EYFS teacher.

I have been really enjoying the snow until I had to drive to school in it this morning. Only to find that school was closed. I think, going by what the met office say, we have seen the worst of it for now. Whilst snow days can be fun (especially with a snowboard!), when you’re a trainee teacher and your 5 week teaching practice is nearing you want every chance you get to be in school.



In my last post I mentioned I was beginning to look around for ideas about the dinosaurs topic. I have a list of possible ideas ready to discuss with the class teacher. Hopefully I have some that she hasn’t thought about. I would like to get some dance in as this is a creative strength of mine so why not use it!


At this stage I have not planned anything yet for my teaching practice (aarrhh!). This seems quite scary but I know I will have everything in place soon. It could be due to the fact that I have been working on my essays that are due in at the end of this week. It seems they have come before the children- I don’t think that’s the philosophy uni would like us to keep up! Why do we have to write essays to become a teacher?


I really should be going to sleep now. My body clock is still in holiday mode!

Leave a Reply

