Starting out as an EYFS teacher.

Well the first week of my second year is just about complete. I know I am soon going to be very busy with lots of work and I will try not to moan about it too much!

I was introduced to the ‘Talk for Writing’ strategy this week. This has been developed by a well known writer Pie Corbett. The idea of it is to increase children’s enjoyment in writing and improve their progress. My first impressions of this are good. There looks to be some good ideas for activities but I will have to try them out for myself to see how effective they are during my placement. For more information see: http://nationalstrategies.standards.dcsf.gov.uk/node/152632

My first placement is going to be in Danby, Whitby. Here I will be working in the North York Moors National Park Centre. This should be a really beneficial experience as well as fun. I’m so lucky that it’s in such a lovely area! My first visit will be next week so more details are to follow!

Leave a Reply

